Only One African Country On UK’s Newly Released ‘Quarantine-Free’ Countries

Mauritius is the only African country from where passengers coming to the United Kingdom will not be asked to self-isolate for 14-days upon arrival.

Travellers from 58 other countries will no longer have to quarantine for two weeks when they enter England.

The full list of exempted countries is:

Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Réunion, San Marino, Bahamas, Hong Kong,Serbia, Barbados,Hungary, Seychelles, Belgium,Iceland,South Korea,Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba,Italy, Spain, Croatia,Jamaica, St Barthélemy, Curaçao, Japan, St Kitts and Nevis, Cyprus, Liechtenstein, St Lucia, Czech Republic.,Lithuania, St Pierre and Miquelon, Denmark,Luxembourg, Switzerland, Dominica,Macau, Taiwan, Faroe Islands, Malta, Trinidad and Tobago, Fiji, Mauritius, Turkey, Finland, Monaco,Vatican City, France, Netherlands, Vietnam, French Polynesia, New Caledonia

Notable omissions from the list are Sweden, Portugal India, and China. There are also no countries in North, Central or South America

The government will also lift its advice against all but essential international travel for selected countries from Saturday.

The main list focuses on countries in Europe, island nations around the world including the Caribbean, and countries further east – including Japan, South Korea, Hong Kong, Australia and New Zealand. You will still have to isolate for 14 days if you arrive from anywhere in North, Central or South America – plus Africa, the Middle East and most of Asia.